If you decided that you no longer want to use Spotify, you can delete your account — but you can only do that through the web browser, not in the mobile app. When you delete your account, you would not be allowed to use your existing Spotify username again; but, you will still have the option to create a new account with the same email address.
Prior to turning down your account, make sure you are mindful of the implications. Also, keep in mind that you have the authority to cancel your subscriptions despite not closing your account entirely yet. Before walking you through the steps on how you can delete your Spotify account via your internet browser, here are some of the possible repercussions that you may experience when you delete your account permanently.
- You will lose access to your playlists and followers.
- You will also lose all the songs that you have saved to your library.
- If you have signed up for Spotify Plays Premium with a student voucher or discount, you will have to wait a whole year before you can register for the offer again.
If you already made up your mind and want to continue to delete your Spotify account, you need to first make sure you’re logged into the account that you intend to delete. You will then need to navigate to Spotify’s “Contact Customer Support” section and follow these steps:
Spotify Account Deletion Procedure
Step 1: Go to “Account”
Step 2: Click “I want to close my account.”
Step 3: Confirm that you really intend to delete your account permanently, or just simply cancel your paid subscription. On the left side, select the black “Close Account” option to continue with the deletion.
Step 4: This will lead you to a page where you can see the message, “We’re sad you want to leave us” and you will then be prompted to start a five-step procedure to delete your account. Click the “Continue” button to proceed after each stage.
Step 5: Confirm that you have signed in to the right account that you want to delete. Select the “Continue” button to move forward.
Step 6: Spotify will then inform you that you will lose your playlists and followers. Check the box to indicate that you accept the implications, then press the “Continue” button.
Step 7: On the next page, click the “Continue” button again. You will then receive an email — sent to the account you signed up with — to verify that you still want to close your account.
Step 8: Open the email you got and hit the “Close My Account” button. This must be activated within 24 hours of obtaining the message.